Walter Payton NFL Man of The Year Nominees

The 32 players are honored as the NFL’s Man of Year team. This award represents the player’s achievement and excellence both on and off the field. The NFL nominated a single player from every team in the league, and they are eligible to win the award presented by Nationwide.

The award is named for the Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton. Three players will be selected as finalists, and that is going to be announced in January 2016. Each of the 32 nominated players will receive $5,000 to donate to the charity of their choice. The winner will get additional $50,000 while two runners-up will receive $6,000.

“Serving their communities and philanthropic causes is a strong and long-standing tradition of NFL players,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell.

“These outstanding young men embrace and represent that important commitment of giving back to our communities. We salute and thank our players for their leadership.”

This is not all. Every nominee will receive a unique hashtag, and the fans can vote for a favorite player on Twitter, so the player with most mentions will get another $20,000 for the charity of choice.

Walter Payton played 13 seasons for Chicago Bears and missed only one game in that span. He was selected nine times to the Pro Bowl and was one of the most prolific running backs of his generation. Payton won two NFL MVP awards and a Super Bowl XX with Chicago in 1985. He was later inducted into a Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1993. Payton died on November 1, 1999, aged 46, from a rare liver disease and ultimately cholangiocarcinoma.

These are the 32 nominees for this year’s award:

Arizona Cardinals — Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons — Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens — Steve Smith Sr.

Buffalo Bills — Eric Wood

Carolina Panthers — Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears — Matt Forte

Cincinnati Bengals — Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns — Gary Barnidge

Dallas Cowboys — Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos — David Bruton Jr.

Detroit Lions — Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers — Sam Barrington

Houston Texans — J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts — Dwayne Allen

Jacksonville Jaguars — Zane Beadles

Kansas City Chiefs — Eric Berry

Miami Dolphins — Ryan Tannehill

Minnesota Vikings — Chad Greenway

New England Patriots — Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints — Benjamin Watson

New York Giants — Eli Manning

New York Jets — Eric Decker

Oakland Raiders — Justin Tuck

Philadelphia Eagles — Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers — Cameron Heyward

San Diego Chargers — Darrell Stuckey

San Francisco 49ers — Anquan Boldin

Seattle Seahawks — Richard Sherman

St. Louis Rams — Chris Long

Tampa Bay Buccaneers — Vincent Jackson

Tennessee Titans — Delanie Walker

Washington Redskins — Ryan Kerrigan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More like this


3 Youngsters Who Had a Breakthrough Season With Manchester...

Manchester United is a team full of youngsters. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has kept faith in youth, and...

The best Arsenal XI going into the festive period

The Christmas schedule is notoriously the most demanding period of the entire Premier League season.It’s the time...

Time for Southampton to part company with Mark Hughes

The sack race is well and truly underway in the Premier League this season. Although unlike last...