When Christmas Champions Ultimately Became Title Holders


Following Leicester City’s rise to the pinnacle of the Premier League in the first half of the season, many have begun to tout the Foxes as strong contenders for the title and with good reason, as their recent performances and Premier League history suggests.

The Premier League title has been won by the team on top of the League by Christmas a staggering 11 times, and with the way Leicester’s going this season might be the 12th time a team’s won it from being top at Christmas unless the likes of Manchester City and Arsenal think otherwise.

But with all that said let’s take a look at the 11 times when winter champions went on to win the tittle.

3Blackburn Rovers (1994/95)

Blackburn Rovers

Blackburn became the second team to win the League after being top at Christmas in the 1994-95 season. It was quite a historic campaign for Blackburn as it was their first English League title after a long 81-year wait.

The race to the top of the League was tightly contested as Blackburn won the title with a one-point margin over Manchester United.

Alan Shearer played a very crucial role in their title-winning campaign as he bagged a record 34 league goals and 37 in all competitions. He was awarded the Golden Boot as well as the PFA player’s player of the year award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here